YALLOURN HOCKEY CLUB

Minutes of the Inaugural Meeting of Morwell Golds Hockey Team. Held 9th November 1955 in Room 16, Yallourn High School.

Mr. Nicholls as Convenor in the chair.

PRESENT:

Mr. Nicholls, Misses B. Gust, L. Gust, L. Gunn, M. Harry, R. Phillpot, A. Van der horst, C. King, J. Rust, C. Stitson, O. Maconichie, J. Wallace, E. McConnell, S. McConnell, E. McLaren

After declaring the meeting open, Mr. Nicholls explained that the meeting was called to discuss the future of the Morwell "Golds" Hockey Team in respect to the 1956 season.

It was then moved by B. Gust and seconded by E. McLaren, that...."This meeting of members of the Morwell "Golds" Hockey Team of 1955 resolve to form an independent hockey club and to apply for affiliation with the Traralgon Women's Hockey Association for 1956 season."

The motion was carried.

It was moved by J. Rust and seconded by C. King that the membership shall at present, be open only to those who were regular playing members of the Morwell "Golds" Hockey team of the 1955 season and that the question of the admission of additional members be considered at the next General Meeting.

This motion was carried.

Moved by B. Gust and seconded E. McLaren, that "A President and Secretary be elected pro-tem" Officers for 1956 to be elected at an "Annual General Meeting."

Election of President:

Nominations were then called for, for a President. They were as follows:

B. Gust - nominated by L. Gust, seconded by E. McLaren
E. McLaren - nominated by B. Gust, seconded by S. McConnell
S. McConnell - nominated by E. McLaren, seconded by L. Gunn

As a result of the subsequent ballot, B. Gust was declared elected and took the chair and called for nominations for Secretary.

Election of Secretary:

Nominations were as follows-

A. Van der Horst - nominated by R. Phillpot, seconded by C. King E. McLaren - nominated by J. Wallace, seconded by J. Rust

S. McConnell - nominated by E. McLaren, seconded by O. Maconichie

As a result of the election which followed, E. McLaren was declared elected.

GENERAL BUSINESS:

It was moved by L. Gust, seconded by J. Wallace, that the Annual General Meeting be held not later than March 1956.

This was carried.

It was moved by R. Phillpot, seconded by J. Wallace, that the President and Secretary prepare a draft Constitution for consideration at the next General Meeting.

This was carried.

It was also left to the President and Secretary to make inquiries for a ground on which to play.

The meeting was closed at 12:45pm.

Signed: E. McLaren (tem.sec)

B. Gust (President)

Minutes of the General Meeting of the Yallourn Blues Hockey Club

Held in the home of Mrs. Gust, March 1956

PRESENT:

Mr. Nicholls, Misses B. Gust, L. Gust, C. Stitson, M. Harry, O. Maconichie, S. McConnell, L. Gunn, E. McConnell, J. Carlisle, J. Wallace, J. McHenry, M. McInnes, E. McLaren

Apologies: Nil

Minutes of the last meeting were read by E. McLaren and were moved by Lois Gust, seconded by Margot Harry that the minutes as read be received.

Correspondence:

The Secretary told members that the Grounds Association for the Oval Trust had allowed us to make use of the Junior Boys Soccer field.

Election of Permanent President:

All members again voted in favour of Betty Gust continuing in the position of President.

Election of Permanent Secretary:

Again, all members voted in favour of Elizabeth McLaren carrying on in the position of Secretary.

A Committee of four was then elected. These being:

Misses S. McConnell, Judy Wallace, Leonie Gunn and Lois Gust.

The Constitution:

It was discussed by members and moved by motion that consideration of the constitution be discussed at the next General Meeting and that the Committee meanwhile consider the draft constitution which includes the following clauses:

- 1. The Club be known as.....
- 2. Proposed membership shall be nominated and seconded by members and approval by the Committee.
- 3. The Annual Meeting be held not later than the first week in March.
- 4. Officers shall be President, Vice-President, Secretary and Treasurer.
- 5. Committee shall consist of Officers plus at least three members. The Committee shall meet at least......
- 6. Any alteration to the Constitution shall be made by a General Meeting of the Club subject of 14 days' notice of motion.

These points were discussed and it was decided to call the club the Yallourn Blues and to apply for Affiliation with the Traralgon Women's Hockey Association.

Election of Treasurer:

Olive Maconichie was unanimously voted by members as Treasurer.

General Business:

It was moved Betty Gust, seconded M. Harry that we pay 5/- subscription fee to include registration fee.

After much discussion, it was moved by Judy Wallace, seconded by Lois Gust that the uniform be as follows:

A Navy blue pleated tunic with an open neckline, trimmed with white rickrack braid and Navy blue pants. The Committee was left to go into material details.

It was moved Judy Wallace, seconded Carol Stitson, that the club be called Yallourn Blues. This was carried.

Mr. Nicholls informed us that hockey sticks were available at 42/-, leather hockey balls £1/o/o., Composition balls 8/3d. It was decided to purchase both kinds of balls at a cost of £1/8/3.

Also we were allowed to have the use of the school goalie pads. Mr. Nicholls said that he would see about goal posts.

The meeting closed a 9:30pm after which a beautiful supper was had by all.

Signed: E. McLaren (Sec)

B. Gust (President)